The Oconee County Public Library provides resources and experiences to satisfy curiosity, connect people with their community, and encourage lifelong discovery.


The library is a hub for the community, with resources people need and want, programs and services that help people satisfy curiosity or try something new, and staff that is trained and prepared to help people reach their goals.

History of OCPL

The Oconee County Public Library was first established in May of 1948. The first library opened in October of that year in the old courthouse annex in Walhalla, SC. A bookmobile was also purchased and began operation in that same year. Between 1950 and 1953, branch libraries were established in Westminster (1950), Salem (1952) and Seneca (1953). In 1968, the Seneca Library was the first to have a building constructed specifically for library purposes. It was dedicated in October, 1968. Other new, purpose-built facilities were erected in Walhalla (dedicated October, 1979) and Westminster (dedicated September, 1979). The Salem Library, dedicated in May, 1981 shares space with the Town Hall. The Seneca Library, built in part with funding from the City of Seneca, became part of the county system in 1983, as well as undergoing an expansion at that time (completed in 1985).

Library Board of Trustees

  1. Allison Addison -- 4 year term (expires January 1, 2025)
  2. Shelby Henderson -- 4 year term (expires January 1, 2025)
  3. Paul Holcombe -- 4 year term (expires January 1, 2025)
  4. Liz Kuemmerer -- 4 year term (expires January 1, 2025)
  5. Nick McKinney -- (Chair) - 4 year term (expires January 1, 2027)
  6. Nivia Miranda -- 4 year term (expires January 1, 2025)
  7. Clifton Powell -- (Secretary/Treasurer) - 4 year term (expires January 1, 2027)
  8. Tara Weekes -- (Vice chair) - 4 year term (expires January 1, 2027)
  9. Monica White  -- 4 year term (expires January 1, 2025)

County Ordinance 79-8 established the Library System for Oconee County, SC. The system shall be managed and directed by a Board of Trustees consisting of nine (9) members appointed by the Council; Four year terms—as much as possible represent geographical areas of the county. The Library Board receives no compensation.

Current and past agendas and minutes of the Library Board are available on the county website.